Arrival in Nepal – 17th February 2014

Standard
I arrived at 5pm in Nepal after about 40mins of the plane circling over Kathmandu – so the traffic is not just restricted to cars and bikes in Kathmandu!  But it was still fun as I was being amused my Nepali passengers, offering me sweets and got to see Everest several times.
I was met by Prem, the VSO driver, who crowned me with a marigold garland and we made our way through the busy road from the airport to the guest house.  The sounds and smells remind me of Dar-Es-Salaam, Mumbai and Goa,
At the guesthouse a further warm welcome of VSO folk.  This included Diana, my neighbour who arrived 3 days before me, Peter and Jim, previous Ministry of Education VSO volunteers, (who I have been in constant Skype contact with, whilst I debated taking on the placement).  Peter kindly treated us to a gorgeous meal in a restaurant that was busier than any I have seen in London on a Monday evening!
IMG_1132IMG_1140IMG_1149IMG-20140217-00022IMG-20140217-00023IMG-20140217-00025IMG-20140217-00026IMG-20140217-00027
2 responses »

Leave a Reply

