Mero naam Daphne ho….

Standard

Nepali Language classes have taken up a lot of my time over the last few weeks.  I wonder if I will ever master the language but my ever patient teachers Subarno and now Rekah continue to spur me on.  Unbelievably, I have already clocked up 54 hours and verb conjugation continues to baffle me but thankfully I can ask and answer various questions from Tapaaiko naam ke ho? (What is your name?) and Saahuji pyaaj chha (Shopkeeper, do you have any onions?), including omitting any please or thank you – apparently not the done thing in Nepal.  

Holi festival (festival of colours) has been a recent highlight.  Anyone leaving their house that day is a target for water bombs and colour powder.  Dinesh, our apartment security guard and our Didi’s daughter (my new best friend) helped to get our ammunition ready which included water balloon and guns.  A bunch of us VSO volunteers had great fun roaming Sanepa attacking people and being attacked.  Suffice to say the end of the day, lots of (thankfully) hot showers and scrubbing was required to get rid of the war wounds.
Ammunition

Ammunition

Our helpers

Our helpers

Bags of coloured water filled balloons.

Bags of coloured water filled balloons.

The scary monsters return at the end of the day

The scary monsters return at the end of the day

My language classes are held at the VSO office, which is hive of activity as the whole building gets spruced up and everyone is busy preparing for the Annual Volunteer Conference and 50th Anniversary of VSO in Nepal celebrations.  I am really looking forward to meeting all the volunteers and hearing about their inspiring stories.

Sadly, we said goodbye to Chris and Meha, our hospitable hosts, who departed for Pakistan.  Meha kindly made us Biryani on their last night and even treated me to a henna tattoo. 
Meha creating a masterpiece

Meha creating a masterpiece

The artist and her work.

The artist and her work.

Artwork drying.

Artwork drying.

Now it’s just down to Dianne and I to feed and look after our selves, on the plus side we get to have our own beds to sleep in.
About Daphne

I’m Daphne, normally live in Vauxhall, London. I am blogging to keep track of my adventures. After volunteering for 3 years with Voluntary Service Overseas (VSO), in Nepal, at the Ministry of Education in Kathmandu, I am now in Tanzania, volunteering with VSO on a Youth Economic Empowerment Project.

7 responses »

  1. Not surprised to hear that you are learning the food words first. No chance of you starving then!!!
    I knew I didn’t have to worry about you as far as food is concerned….. ha! ha! Love Mum xxx

  2. So interesting that saying ‘please’ and ‘thankyou’ is not the done thing. Yesterday Clare organized us to reseed the wildflower bed – not completely, just a topup. Sim and Lucas were there too digging under the trees and sowing seeeds. The under-trees plots look lovely, though we haven’t done much o them this year.

    • Hi Penny, that sounds wonderful. Would love to see pictures. Lots of beautiful flowers here, tempted to collect the seeds and sent to you all. Loves to all

  3. Like the Henna! Does it take long to wash/wear off. Am impressed you’re taking language
    lessons. Best of luck with that, at least there’s no ‘please’ and ‘thank you’ to content With!
    love. Wiebke

Leave a Reply

